The Writers Circle: Kickstarter

TWC
One of our goals here at Today’s Author is to help all of the writers among us to do what we love to do: write. One of the best ways to accomplish this is by talking to each other and learning from each other.  Our Writers Circle series is designed to do just that – provide a chance for us to discuss writing, editing and publishing questions.

This week’s topic is:

An increasing number of authors are turning to Kickstarter to fund their own publishing efforts.  Would you support a Kickstarter book?  What would you expect in return? Would you consider using Kickstarter to fund your own book? What would you consider offering as an incentive to potential supporters?

Let’s discuss this in the comments and see what our community thinks.

5 thoughts on “The Writers Circle: Kickstarter

  1. I already supported a Kickstarter campaign for Writer’s Bloq and I’d do it again for other authors. I’m even considering using it for myself in the near future.

  2. It looks so complicated to set up. I suppose that’s good–you’re asking for money–but it seems to be a big marketing commitment from writers.

    We’ll see…

  3. I’ve backed a few books on Kickstarter so far. Many of the books listed have already been written, and they’re trying to raise the $ to get it printed. This actually seems like a decent model to me. If enough people pay for the book, the author gets to print it without being stuck with the cost if it fails. If not enough people sign up, it just doesn’t happen.

  4. I’m not sure. I’m all for supporting writers especially in today’s publishing environment.
    I heard about a similar / or same venture (in England? maybe). On the ground floor everything was started well but soon went haywire.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.